Would you mind answering a quick question?

12 Jan

No sign up, no email required. Just a quick click to help an author out. I want to understand my readers, especially my friend on Kindle, eBooks or iPad. 

8 Responses to “Would you mind answering a quick question?”

  1. Corey J. Goldberg January 12, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    When I purchase books for kindle I search for the genre I am interested in reading and then read all of the customer reviews of the books listed under that search. I often times browse by going to a book that I know I like and clicking on the “Customers that purchased this book also purchased this book links.” If the reviews intrigue me enough I will buy a copy. I will never buy a book that has 50 reviews or more and less 4 stars.

    • Corey J. Goldberg January 12, 2012 at 10:48 am #

      Gah, I hate having typos in my writing and it won’t let me edit.

    • Brad Geagley January 13, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

      Corey, That’s great information. Thank you. As a writer who has moved from traditional publishing into the indie world, it’s been an interesting ride. I love knowing that you rely on the book description and cover and reviews. So far the reviews for The Stand In on Amazon and iTunes have been amazing. I’m so grateful for readers who post reviews, good or bad because it gives other readers so much to go on.
      I’m curious why you don’t buy the books with over 50 reviews? What’s your thinking on that?
      Best, Brad

  2. VeloRapid January 12, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    I’m quite open to books, I’d purchase a book depending of the description/plot and worry much less on the cover.

    • Brad Geagley January 13, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

      Interesting. What did you think of my description for The Stand In?
      Thank you for the feedback. (And I love the design of your website.)
      Best,
      Brad

  3. CanaryTheFirst January 20, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    Cover and description–and my mood of course. Chirp!

  4. Katrina January 24, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I usually pick a book up in the store by looking at the cover/title. That’s what draws me in. Then I read the description. If it dulls me, I won’t buy it. If it intrigues me, I will.

  5. goddessella February 7, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    actually, it doesnt matter to me (and to a whole lot of bookworms out there, whether ebooks or print) whether or not an author is an established one or not or whether the book is popular or not.
    as long as the book sounds interesting enough, it will get picked.
    of course it helps that the cover and/or the title is intriguing or interesting enough. i would confess that one of my favorite pastimes is going inside a second hand bookshop and browse randomly picking out the ones that the cover or title interests me and then i’d sit in one corner and peruse their back summary and get the ones i liked. XD

Leave a Reply

