Bette Davis was Right, “Old Age Isn’t for Sissies”, Deal with It

17 Jan

I Remember Nothing is Nora Ephron’s latest collection of essays.  I like Nora’s writings better than her movies, because she instinctively brings up the very same things I’ve been wondering about and then proceeds to give her riff on the subjects at hand.  In I Remember Nothing, she is mainly wondering about getting old.

I’ve been wondering about that a lot lately, too.

For those of you who read my blogs, you’ve learned that I just turned 61.  This is a fact that gives me considerable pause.  How did I ever get this old?  What happened to my forties – hell, what happened to my fifties?   They seem to have dropped effortlessly into the great oozy haze of my past, from which I can extract individual memories but to which I can no longer assign an exact time frame.  Everything seems to have happened yesterday, or the day before.  Or maybe earlier this morning.  Sometimes when I’m writing a check I will fill in the day and month correctly, but in the space for the year I’ll write 1987.

Really?  Is that the year where I’ve been marooned for the last two-and-a-half decades?  It seems about right.  I think that’s just about the time when I hit that oil slick and have been sliding giddily toward death ever since.

But here’s the funny thing – I don’t feel old at all.  In fact, I’ve never been more in touch with my younger self than I am now.  It’s weird.

Let me try to explain.  Yes, I certainly feel the effects of aging on my physical self.  I have attacks of psoriatic arthritis mainly in my feet, and sometimes my left knee, that are true miseries in their own right.  When they occur, I hobble about like Walter Brennan playing Grandpappy Amos in “The Real McCoys” (other 61-year olds will understand that reference; anyone younger – forget it).

Everyone has told you all along how miserable aging can be, that your body and mind become frailer and that the old coot looking back at you from the mirror is actually – gasp! – you.   Or that the youngest person in your life has just turned 44, and you begin to mentally calculate that if s/he is that old, then that makes you – Oh, my God!  I do remember one thing from my fifties – I was able to tell people my true age and everybody would rush in to compliment me on how young and fresh I seemed, and how no one would ever guess – !  Now when I tell someone my true age all you can hear is the crickets. (In tepid response, I have banned flash photography from my life – the cruelest reminder of your age that has ever been invented.)

“Old age isn’t for sissies!” Bette Davis used to proclaim in interviews, and that’s certainly true.

But no one tells you how fun it can be.  Things that bothered you for years don’t bother you anymore.  You are finally out of that dog-eat-dog competition that passes for youth; and it’s not that you can’t compete anymore, it’s that you don’t care to.  The only thing with whom you’re competing is yourself and your own expectations.  The great job, the great house, the great car, the great restaurants are nice to have but not if it means that you’re working only to pay for them.  Who owns who at that point?  Somehow, by 60, you internalize all this.

I used to always accept invitations to parties because I actively feared that if I turned it down I’d never be asked back.  Now I’ve learned that wherever I am is where the party is.  I don’t have to be surrounded by merriment to be merry.  And people ask me back because they genuinely like to have me around.  (Of course, there are some people that have, regrettably, banned me irreversibly from their lives because something in my character genuinely irritates or intimidates them; well, my response to that is – tough titties.  I’m not going to put on a disguise anymore just so you’ll like me better.)

Simply, I don’t have the energy anymore to be something I’m not.  And that’s the most fun thing about aging that no one ever tells you about.  You don’t go around like a whirling dervish anymore, trying on this mood, playing with that attitude, taking up this belief, or assuming that pose.   You think instead – and truly believe it – that this is who I am. This is what 61 looks like.

Note to the rest of the world:  Deal with it.

All of this, of course, is manna for a writer.  Being 61 actually means that I have real human truths and emotions to write about, things that happened to me personally, incidents and observations that I can exploit in a myriad of ways.  I don’t have to experience things second hand in books or films anymore.  I have sinned, I have raged, I have triumphed, I have shone, I have succeeded, and I have failed – and it’s all grist for my personal mill.  I’ve become my own emotional and experiential Wikipedia and my writing only grows better because of it.

Pearl Buck believed that a writer had to be at least 30 before they had anything serious to say.  For me, I was in my 50s, but I’m a slow learner.  Maybe you’re 30 and have learned all you need to learn to become a great writer; and I say unto you – mazel tov!  But for those of you, like me, who clung to every belief that was forced on you until you had to shed it almost by force, here’s the good news:  By 60, nature does it all for you.

And the best thing of all…?  I can write what I want to write.  When I worked at That Entertainment Company for many years, I was forced to write for their characters, all the while making sure that nothing new (or interesting) was ever done to them.  It was exhausting.  Writing is hard enough to do when you actually like what you’re doing, but not when you despise it.  At 61, I’ve earned the right to tell my own stories and every day is like a gift given.  I can make what I want to out of it.  (Believe me, that was certainly not true when I was young.  Youth may be wasted on the young, as George Bernard Shaw said, but I’m damned well not going to waste my old age, too.)

I have to end this with an absolutely true story.  When I attended my first mystery writers conference in Toronto, I knew I had found the right place for me to be at that time in my life.  Know why?  Because the author who won “Best First Novel” at the conference used a walker to go claim his trophy.

Isn’t that great?

 

23 Responses to “Bette Davis was Right, “Old Age Isn’t for Sissies”, Deal with It”

  1. yvonnemason January 17, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    I just turned 60 like you I have no idea where the years went. However, that being said, I also have learned others can just deal with me the way I am or not. I am not here to make them happy.

    • Brad Geagley January 17, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

      Exactly, Yvonne. This is your life.
      Best, Brad

  2. Dawn Pisturino January 17, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    Nice article!

  3. Lois Roelofs January 17, 2012 at 3:18 pm #

    A walker. That is great! And a nice life is waiting after turning 60 as you’ve found out. Thanks for checking in to my “Turning 70” post today. Where did that time go?? I like the deal about getting older and better myself.

  4. Sandra Gore January 17, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Yes! It is great to write what you want. And a dream come true if what you want to write is what people want to read. Paradise. 🙂

  5. Carrie Slager January 17, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    Great post! I guess wisdom really does come with age. For some people, anyway.

  6. Steve Bichard January 18, 2012 at 1:17 am #

    Great post Brad.

    I am knock, knock knocking on 60’s door.
    But I have just published my first book, something I wanted to do for decades.
    I have a new partner, who supports me 100%.
    I have virtually jumped off the UK commercial business bandwagon and moved to France, where I have more time and can live out my dream of writing more books.
    Life is to short not to do what you dream of doing and you are never to old to do it.

    • Brad Geagley January 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Steve, Good for you, life is just unfolding. And congrats on Italy, sounds like there’s a book in there.
      Best,
      Brad

      • Brad Geagley January 29, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

        I meant FRANCE. I guess my mind is going!

      • Steve Bichard January 30, 2012 at 5:51 am #

        Its OK Brad, I knew what you meant.
        Actually my first novel on Kindle ‘Vantastic France’ is about white van man moving to France. I never owned a white van, but I am sure there is something of us in all or novels.

  7. Miss Judy January 18, 2012 at 4:51 am #

    Thank you thank you thank you for this blog!! It is the truth and you make it fun!!!

    • Brad Geagley January 18, 2012 at 4:36 pm #

      Miss Judy, Laughing all the way to the grave!
      Best, Brad

  8. traceysl January 18, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    Thanks for visiting (and liking) my blog, and for sharing your ruminations on age. I’m a little younger than you (54 this month), but dealing with my mother’s decline has put the age issue front and center in my life. In the last few years, I have come to realize that, in our youth-oriented culture, we are often made to feel embarrassed for aging. Successful avoidance of the Grim Reaper means that the number representing our time on Earth will continue to increase. I say, never apologize for living!

    • Brad Geagley January 18, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

      Tracey! Absolutely! No apologies! You’re a mere child, by the way!
      Brad

  9. Stephanie Raffelock January 18, 2012 at 4:23 pm #

    My husband turned 60 last year. I’ve never been with a man his age. I will turn 60 this year. I enjoy your blog.

    • Brad Geagley January 18, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

      Stephanie,
      That’s scandalous! I love it.
      Best, Brad

  10. unicoachingster January 18, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

    Brad – Now that’s what I’m talking about. There are many of us entering or in that Third Trimester of Life realizing just what you have realized as well. It is a marvelous time and I for one want to make the most of it in ways I never did in my 30’s, 40’s or even my ever productive 50’s or the transitional awakening 60’s. I hope to stay in touch and look forward to your next post. Thanks http://lifesthirdtrimester.wordpress.com

  11. unicoachingster January 19, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    One last thought for this particular topic Brad. I quipped this a while back, a twist on the Pogo quote (if you are of a certain age, you know this quote)
    “We have become the Change we want to See, and it is us” sm
    http://lifesthirdtrimester.wordpress.com

  12. EJ Lavoie January 19, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Tell it like it is, Grandpa! I remember learning that James Michener was in his 80s and writing another novel. I want to be that good, that motivated, and that old. Thanks for the reminders.
    P.S. I’m 71 now.

  13. seniledenial January 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

    61 years old -check
    Reading I REMEMBER NOTHING -check
    Watched The Real McCoys as a kid -check

    Thanks for stopping by my blog, I will check back with yours often as I am enjoying what I read from a kindred spirit!

  14. MOL January 21, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Brad, I hear ya! They say that 60 is the new middle age. So you’re just at the threshold!

    I’m not there yet but I do wonder why the United States is so obsessed with being young (looking young) and being thin. If you ask me, most designers seem to want everyone to look pre-pubescent!

    There is so much to be celebrated with growing older. And it will never be easy. Easy is for sissies!

    thanks for visiting my blog, BTW.

  15. kurtwerks January 22, 2012 at 9:38 am #

    I’m a month and day shy of my 50th birthday. Stuff is breaking and wearing out, to be sure. I do *not* remember anyone telling me about this… As compensation for the gradually decaying physical plant, mother nature bestows wisdom and maturity and being comfortable inside one’s skin. I think I’ll trade that for speed, agility, strength, and youth.

  16. Alan August 29, 2012 at 8:21 pm #

    I’m only in my 30s and I suffer from arthritis and “weather bones”. And, don’t be ashamed of 1987. It was one hell of a year.

Leave a Reply

