Oscars Blah

27 Feb

The Oscars left a bad taste in my mouth.  They were never more irrelevant than last night.  I think Billy Crystal said it best – a bunch of millionaires giving themselves golden statues.  And Chris Rock proved extremely out of synch with his TV audience when he boasted about a getting a million dollars for such easy work as voice chores in an animated film – and then complaining about playing animals.  Talk about trying to have it both ways!  Made me a little nauseous.  Glad for Jean DuJardin – I think it was an amazing performance given the fact that he was deprived of an actor’s number one asset, his voice.  But as far as “The Artist” goes, it was a pleasant little diversion, with absolutely no mystery about where the story was going next.  And the lead actress in it was a grinning gargoyle who didn’t look period at all.  I loved “The Descendants” and “Moneyball” and, particularly, “Hugo” – movies far more worthy for consideration than “The Artist.”  But, then – they didn’t have Harvey Weinstein behind them, more’s the pity.  Highlights were the Focus Panel for “The Wizard of Oz” (I sure hope GWTW has flying monkeys!) and  Cirque du Soleil.  My god, if one of those straps had broken they could have taken out the entire Columbia Studios contingent!

7 Responses to “Oscars Blah”

  1. simonreadbooks February 27, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    I stopped watching the Oscars a few years back. Everyone associated with it seems completely disconnected from reality.

    • Brad Geagley February 28, 2012 at 7:08 am #

      When I lived in NYC I stopped watching it because the Oscars went so late. I think I will do the same next year, even though I’m on Pacific Coast time now. I’ll read the coverage in the NY Times the next day, where they will have photos of the Red Carpet fashions – and without all that dreary, inane commentary. Win/win!

  2. likeitiz February 28, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    I enjoyed “The Artist” when we watched it. It was a pretty piece. But I certainly did not think it was Oscar material. I thought “Hugo” was very well-made and the story had more substance and layers. I enjoyed “The Descendants” but perhaps Oscar voters don’t like small-budget looking movies. Who knows?

    Perhaps Billy Crystal had hinted the reason why the Oscars are becoming irrelevant. The Academy is composed of lifetime members in the industry who are predominantly older and white. Certainly not representative of the industry nor its audience.

    They should also fire the writers of the show. Watching the Paltrow-Downey sequence or even the Stone-Stiller one was too painful.

    • Brad Geagley February 28, 2012 at 10:02 am #

      Yes, indeed. Even Crystal seemed lame at times.

  3. Michael Gray February 28, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    BILLY was right on! I think even the participants at this point can’t believe how silly the whole thing is. They get free stuff ,eat & get drunk > Why don’t they just donate everything to Charity next year. Then I would believe they really care about the human condition.

    But I watch it anyway ( :

  4. maroon5gurl88 February 28, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    I had similar thoughts on the Oscars that actually put in a debate with a fellow writer of mine. I hate to plug but my full thoughts are here http://www.cc2konline.com/component/content/article/124-television-collision/2792-the-good-the-bad-and-the-oscars. In summation though I thought Crystal was horribly out-of-touch with his jokes. There were no surprises with the awards and I think that really colored the mood in the room as no one seemed spontaneous or even happy to be there. Not to mention I’m already stewing that they couldn’t fill that tenth Best Picture slot with Drive or Shame.

    • likeitiz February 29, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      I too thought that “Drive” deserved even at least some nominations. The story, screenplay, acting, casting, etc. were all A-1 caliber. Dark, however.

Leave a Reply

